Giving + Learning: A personal account.

Giving + Learning

Working with a Somali couple in their home for six years now has resulted in one of the most rewarding relationships of my life. We started out with some basics–them reviewing the English alphabet, me learning the Somali alphabet. I brought in a “Ready to Read” book about the desert–something they were familiar with–and they asked me to help them read and understand a lot of the mysterious mail that was showing up at their apartment. I’ve met cousins, nephews and nieces, and friends; I’ve been treated like a family member. I’ve learned a lot about the Ogaden region of Ethiopia, where my friends are from, and I’ve learned about the compelling stories of the Somali diaspora in Fargo, Minneapolis, the US, Canada, the UK and Kenya. I’m looking forward to meeting more family members who are being resettled to Fargo in June of 2014, if all goes as planned.

View original post 536 more words

Leave a Reply

